Touch-Heart

This post is about 2 things that have touched my heart recently.

 

NUMBER ONE: I found this photo on Pinterest. I love this photo in so many different ways.

So first I ask you. What do you think of this photo? What comes to your mind first?

 

Koala’s are known to be aggressive creatures. So this photo makes it much more memorable. Not only is this Koala getting water its also holding the firefighter’s hand. This photo just hits my heart so many ways. It shows the love and potential we have between human and the animal kingdom. For me words cannot describe everything I see here.
This brings me to the title for my blog. Touch-Heart. It comes from a sign in ASL of something that gets to you emotionally. Here is a link to what it looks like. When I am overwhelmed by emotion or something I just can’t describe in words. This is the sign I go to. This photo is that sign for me.
I long for a time when moments like these are common.

 

NUMBER TWO: A co-worker of mine sent me this link to a podcast. When I am working, I like listening to music, not talking. But I thought I would give this one a try. I am glad I did. All 3 part of the blog made me think and learn something new.
My favourite part is the last section about the Toast and how a women with a mental illness changed her life. Mental illness is so prevalent today and it still has the stigma of something we should hide under the rug.
I know it can be hard to understand and know how to react. But even just trying to understand or show some empathy can make a world of difference.

Here is the podcast if you would like to listen to it.

http://www.thisamericanlife.org/radio-archives/episode/520/no-place-like-home

These two things have weighed on my mind the last few days. So I wanted to share it. There is more I wanted to say about these two subjects but that is all I can get out articulately.
I hope it has “Touch-Heart” for you too.

 

Leave a Reply

